Closed versus Open mode in Domain Options


Closed versus Open mode in Domain Options

When an AppRiver spam filtering account is initially set up, it will by default be in Open mode. This means that AppRiver will process all messages regardless of who they are addressed to. This setting is desirable for new accounts that want to make sure they do not miss any addresses.

Another option is to switch the domain to Closed mode once they are certain of all their addresses. Setting your domain to Closed mode will only process mail for the addresses entered in the users list in the web interface. This will not bounce the messages and let spammers detect valid addresses. It will simply hold all incoming messages for users not listed in the web interface after they are received. 
And if you have Hosted Exchange, we will automatically place your domain into Closed mode/'Delete' and keep all addresses in sync for you. However, if you do not have Hosted Exchange we recommend using LDAP to keep user addresses, alias accounts, email groups or email lists in sync. Of course, it would probably not take long for the missed users to realize they are not receiving email and promptly notify you.
 
 
© 2016 AppRiver LLC.  All rights reserved.
.

Add Feedback